Gull Island

By Anna Porter

Cover of Gull IslandGull Island
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
Format: Trade Paperback
Publication date: September 5, 2023
ISBN13: 9781668017708
Pages: 256

Buy online: Amazon.ca | Indigo | Indie Bound | McNally Robinson


A haunting psychological suspense novel about a young woman who visits her remote family cottage seeking answers to a murky past—for fans of Catherine McKenzie and Amber Cowie.

When her estranged father goes missing, Jude is persuaded by her mother to find his will. She travels to the family cottage on remote Gull Island, glad to be away from the city and to have the chance to sort through old memories, but is unsettled by what she finds there.

While contending with the neglected cottage and encroaching wild animals, Jude looks not only for her father’s will, but also for photographs of herself as a baby, desperate for proof that she was loved as a child. However, loneliness and terrifying dreams soon wear on her, bringing back frightening memories. Thoughts of her distant mother and intimidating father, her jealous sister, and her mother’s mysterious friend infest Jude’s increasingly clouded mind.

Then a fierce storm sweeps away her boat and severs her from the outside world. Forced to reckon with long-buried truths and filled with the terrible sense that the cottage may be haunted by more than the past, Jude begins to fear for her sanity—and her life.

Media

Anna Porter’s COVID Book: Canadian write makes a move to the dark side with new novel — Montreal Gazette, January 24, 2024

Anna Porter’s latest novel is a psychological thriller set in cottage country — read an excerpt now — CBC Books, May 17, 2023

Gull Island by Anna Porter — The Miramichi Reader, August 14, 2023

Crime fiction: 4 new titles introduce fresh series, familiar modus operandi, and a Netflix-like twist — Toronto Star, October 5, 2023

The not-so-great escape: Lake Huron cottage holds family secrets aplenty in brilliant but grim thriller — The Winnipeg Free Press, November 4, 2023

Mysteries to be solved — Jewish Independent, December 1, 2023

8 mystery books to get comfy with this holiday season from The Next Chapter’s mystery book panel: Canadian authors Angela Misri and Sam Wiebe recommend their favourite mystery novels — CBC Books, The Next Chapter, December 8, 2023

Praise for Gull Island

“This new mystery from Order of Canada publisher/author Anna Porter is absolutely brilliant, utterly mesmerizing. […] Gull Island is splendidly written.” — Nick Martin, The Winnipeg Free Press

“A deep dive into a darkly troubled family that is overflowing with razor-sharp characterizations.” — Linwood Barclay, New York Times bestselling author of The Lie Maker and Take Your Breath Away

“Full of atmosphere and things that go bump in the night, Gull Island is sure to leave you guessing about what is real and what is imagined until the very last page.” — Catherine McKenzie, USA Today bestselling author of Have You Seen Her and I’ll Never Tell

“A real tour de force, with a strong sense of place, memorable characters, and a tightly wound plot. I was entirely caught up in the intrusions of nature, buried secrets, imperfect memories, and personal failings.” — Anne Giardini, bestselling author of Advice for Italian Boys and The Sad Truth About Happiness

“Set in a terrifyingly remote cottage, Gull Island is buoyed by skilled pacing, tense plotting, and a haunting conclusion about the inescapable power and presence of family bonds and betrayals. A transportive and creepy contemplation of the insidious nature of memory and place.” — Amber Cowie, author of Last One Alive